And the award goes to …

05_greeen logo mit ausgeschriebenem Titel_kleinThe GREEEN Network organised a storytelling award that addressed 14-19 year-old students in Europe to tell their story on climate change. The story involved a time travel – we wanted the storytellers to imagine that they live in 2115 and tell people how the battle against climate change was finally won. How did people change their behaviour into a climate friendly and sustainable one? What invention made fossil fuels obsolete? How did we decrease the consumption of resources to a sustainable level?

From the more than 55 submitted stories the jury members  made a pre-selection of ten stories. The selection was based on four criteria: level of students’ initiative, relevance, ingenuity and originality. These top ten were published on 22.12.2015 on the GREEEN Facebook page for the public to cast their vote for the three eventual winners – the number of likes had to decide on the winning stories. The teams had eight days to make sure that they would be among these.

On January 1st, 2016, the four winners were nominated. These are:

Regeneration day, submitted Ari Anatolian High School, Turkey
Find their story here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhcXb_bPqaE

Climate changeD, submitted by Vilnius Joachim Lelevel Secondary school,
Find their story here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSHnBSDzYas

Saved from carbon dioxide, submitted by 2nd High School of Kessariani, Greece
Find their story here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEUFzJUMVdw

Organic heroes, submitted by Arı Private Middle School, Turkey
Find their story here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsP9__2ckeM

The four winning teams will be invited to the 2-day GREEEN event that will be hosted by the Swedish partner Värmdö Gymnasium in Stockholm. The prize of the competition is actually the trip to Stockholm. However, we will have a European award ceremony on Monday evening, 22nd February, with all GREEEN partners and several students from regional and European schools.

GREEEN will launch the next award in spring 2016.